clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT calls up Paul Arriola for pivotal World Cup qualifiers

Soccer: 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup -USA at Jamaica Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

D.C. United midfielder Paul Arriola is part of the 26 man roster Bruce Arena announced Sunday for the United States in the final two World Cup qualifiers, which have become crucial for the US to qualify.

Arriola appeared as a second-half substitute for the USA’s last 2 World Cup Qualifiers and his appearance was influential in the Yanks taking a point at Honduras. The US is in 4th place in CONCACAF standings, tied with the Catrachos but owning the differential tiebreaker, and both teams are a point behind Panama. The United States hosts Panama on Friday before wrapping qualifying at Trinidad and Tobago Tuesday. Panama’s second game is at 2nd place Costa Rica, Honduras plays the Ticos Friday before hosting group leading, already clinched Mexico Tuesday. The top 3 teams from CONCACAF qualify automatically, with the 4th entered into a playoff in November.

Arriola is the second D.C. United player to be called into qualifiers, Bruno Miranda was called into Bolivia’s National Team last week, Zoltan Stieber is expected to be the third.

The rest of the squad is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (9): DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Hamburg)