clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United's Bill Hamid, Perry Kitchen, named to provisional US squad for Gold Cup

Hamid, Kitchen named by Jurgen Klinsmann to 35 man provisional roster a month ahead of the start of the Gold Cup

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

D.C. United stalwarts Bill Hamid and Perry Kitchen were both named to the 35 man provisional USA squad for this summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup, as manager Jurgen Klinsmann released the list on Wednesday. The duo, both of whom are looking for their third caps for the US, will now vie to be part of the final squad of 23 for the tournament.

Klinsmann can name replacements to the team after the conclusion of the group stage, but will be limited to calling in players listed on the provisional squad.

Hamid will presumably be in competition against William Yarbrough of Club Leon for the third keeper spot on the team. With Tim Howard on a year long national team sabbatical, Brad Guzan has assumed the number one position, while Nick Rimando has seemingly slotted into the back up role. Hamid's last appearance for the US came last year in a 4-1 loss to the Republic of Ireland, while Yarbrough has earned two caps this year after making his debut in March against Switzerland.

Kitchen's rise to the national team has come about swiftly this year. The former Akron product made his first appearance for the USA in February against Panama, and then saw an extended run against Mexico in April after coming on for the injured Kyle Beckerman. Beckerman, Alfredo Morales, Michael Bradley, Alejandro Bedoya, and Mix Diskerud will play the part of Kitchen's competition for making the squad, and for playing time at the Gold Cup.

The US will look to secure their second consecutive Gold Cup title, and an appearance at the 2017 Confederations Cup, starting on July 7th against Honduras. Panama and Haiti comprise the other two teams in the group.

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), William Yarbrough (Club Leon)

Defenders: Ventura Alvarado (Club America), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Greg Garza (Club Tijuana), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Tim Ream (Bolton Wanderers), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchengladbach), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Jordan Morris (Stanford University), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)