clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLS releases player list for 2017 Re-Entry Draft

D.C. United picks second in tomorrow’s Stage 1

MLS has revealed the list of eligible players for the 2017 Re-Entry Draft. The event begins at 3:00pm tomorrow, with the 23 teams in the league able to select from a list of 59 players that are not eligible for the league’s version of free agency, either due to their option being declined or being out of contract. Teams will pick in reverse order of the final 2017 standings, meaning that D.C. United will select second overall. Expansion club LAFC picks last.

The full list can be found here and includes four players who suited up for United in 2017: Deshorn Brown, Chris Korb, Lloyd Sam, and Marcelo Sarvas. The first three had their options declined, while Marcelo is out of contract but did not have the requisite number of years played in MLS to qualify for free agency. Other notable names on the list include ex-USMNT trio Jermaine Jones, Charlie Davies, and Maurice Edu, as well as the Vancouver Whitecaps pair of Matias Laba and David Ousted.

The most important rule to remember for teams in tomorrow’s first stage is this:

In Stage 1, clubs must exercise the option for or extend a “Bona Fide Offer” to any player selected. Clubs may not select their own draft-eligible players. Should a player reject the offer, the drafting club will hold the right of first refusal for that player in MLS. Players with option years left on their contract will automatically be added to the drafting club’s roster.

Generally speaking, stage one of the Re-Entry Draft is not very busy, as teams are signing on to a contract another MLS side deemed exorbitant. However, with some intriguing options out there and a roster that needs restocking, D.C. may well end up making a selection.

United has been an active participant since the Re-Entry Draft was first introduced, and in fact were the first MLS team to use the Re-Entry Draft (selecting Joseph Ngwenya first overall in 2010). Most notably, the Black-and-Red began their rebuild after a putrid 2013 season by picking Sean Franklin and Bobby Boswell in the RED.