clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLS Schedule 2017: D.C. United’s last season at RFK Stadium

New, 13 comments

Start making plans now!

D.C. United’s schedule for the 2017 season is now available on their website, and it includes multiple games against one of the expansion teams, a game on the most American of holidays, and ends, as expected, with the Atlantic Cup.

United will face both of the expansion teams this season, with three games against Atlanta United and a trip to the north to play Minnesota United. The team has 24 Saturday games, four Sunday games, no Friday game, five Wednesday games, plus one unique midweek regular season game. Also exciting is the fact that there are no conflicts with regular FIFA international matchdays (including the Gold Cup Group Stage), though there are two games during the Gold Cup knockout rounds.

An interesting match is United’s only game on a Tuesday in the MLS regular season: at FC Dallas on the Fourth of July. FC Dallas usually has a game on the Fourth of July, and this year United is the opponent.

This year’s Atlantic Cup features two games in New Jersey and only one at RFK Stadium as United hopes to keep the trophy in DC. The other teams that United has three matches against this year are the Philadelphia Union and Atlanta United.

The full schedule comes four weeks after United’s first two games of 2017 were announced: they open the season at RFK Stadium against Sporting Kansas City on March 4 before traveling to Yankee Stadium for NYCFC’s home opener on March 12. As of now there are only three games on national television, but we will see if that changes further down the road.

The full schedule is below, and I’m sure there is much more information to be mined out of it. Get excited!

D.C. United 2017 Schedule

Day Date Time Opponent Broadcast
Day Date Time Opponent Broadcast
Saturday March 4 7:00 PM Sporting Kansas City
Sunday March 12 2:00 PM at New York City FC
Saturday March 18 7:00 PM Columbus Crew
Saturday April 1 7:00 PM Philadelphia Union
Saturday April 8 4:00 PM New York City FC UniMas
Saturday April 15 7:30 PM at New York Red Bulls
Saturday April 22 7:30 PM at New England Revolution
Sunday April 30 3:00 PM at Atlanta United FS1
Saturday May 6 TBD Montreal Impact
Saturday May 13 7:00 PM Philadelphia Union
Saturday May 20 4:00 PM Chicago Fire UniMas
Saturday May 27 TBD at Vancouver Whitecaps
Wednesday May 31 7:30 PM at Orlando City
Saturday June 3 7:00 PM LA Galaxy
Saturday June 17 TBD at Toronto FC
Wednesday June 21 7:30 PM Atlanta United
Saturday June 24 7:00 PM at Philadelphia Union
Saturday July 1 TBD at Montreal Impact
Tuesday July 4 8:30 PM at FC Dallas
Wednesday July 19 10:30 PM at Seattle Sounders
Saturday July 22 7:00 PM Houston Dynamo
Saturday July 29 8:00 PM at Minnesota United
Saturday August 5 TBD Toronto FC
Saturday August 12 7:00 PM Real Salt Lake
Saturday August 19 9:00 PM at Colorado Rapids
Wednesday August 23 7:30 PM Atlanta United
Saturday August 26 7:00 PM New England Revolution
Saturday September 9 7:00 PM Orlando City
Saturday September 16 8:30 PM at Chicago Fire
Saturday September 23 7:00 PM San Jose Earthquakes
Wednesday September 27 7:30 PM at New York Red Bulls
Saturday September 30 7:30 PM at Columbus Crew
Sunday October 15 TBD at Portland Timbers
Sunday October 22 4:00 PM New York Red Bulls