clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USMNT 2021 Gold Cup roster includes D.C. United duo Paul Arriola, Donovan Pines

Arriola is back with the USMNT, while Pines will be looking for his first senior cap

Inter Miami CF v DC United Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

US Soccer today announced Gregg Berhalter’s 23-man USMNT roster for the upcoming Gold Cup. D.C. United will be represented by attacker Paul Arriola and center back Donovan Pines, with the latter in line for his first-ever cap at the senior national team level.

The USMNT’s group stage schedule includes games against a preliminary round qualifier (either Haiti, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Guadaloupe, or the Bahamas) on July 11, Martinique on July 15, and Canada on July 18.

Players are due to report on July 5, meaning that Arriola and Pines will be available for this Saturday’s home against against Toronto FC before departing for Kansas City, where the USMNT’s group stage matches will all be played. With MLS factoring in a break for the tournament, United will be without the two starters for at least one game (July 17 at Philadelphia), but if the USMNT meets expectations and advances, that total will quickly rise to three or four. The Black-and-Red’s other games in this timeframe include being at Chicago on July 21, home against the New York Red Bulls on July 25, and a road game against FC Cincinnati on July 31.

United’s Bill Hamid, Moses Nyeman, and Kevin Paredes, who were all named to the 60-player preliminary squad, are still eligible to be added to the roster as replacement players. Gold Cup participants can replace an injured player from their squad with a preliminary squad member up to 24 hours before their first match of the tournament. For the USMNT, that makes the deadline 8:30pm Eastern on July 10.

The full roster is as follows:

Goalkeepers (3): Matt Turner (New England Revolution; 1/0), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United; 64/0), Sean Johnson (NYCFC; 9/0)

Defenders (8): Reggie Cannon (Boavista FC; 18/1), Shaq Moore (CD Tenerife; 5/0), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC; 14/2), Donovan Pines (D.C. United; 0/0), Miles Robinson (Atlanta United; 3/1), James Sands (NYCFC; 0/0), Sam Vines (Colorado Rapids; 3/0), George Bello (Atlanta United; 1/0)

Midfielders (6): Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 24/7), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders; 20/0), Jackson Yueill (San Jose Earthquakes; 12/0), Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids; 31/2), Eryk Williamson (Portland Timbers; 0/0), Gianluca Busio (Sporting Kansas City; 0/0)

Forwards (6): Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 35/8), Daryl Dike (Orlando City; 3/1), Nicholas Gioacchini (Caen/FRA; 3/2), Matthew Hoppe (Schalke/GER; 0/0), Gyasi Zardes (Columbus Crew; 56/12), Jonathan Lewis (Colorado Rapids; 7/2)