clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United academy player Eryk Williamson is headed to the U-20 World Cup

Williamson, who was part of the United States team that qualified for the World Cup, is part of Tab Ramos’ team for South Korea

Eryk Williamson, a D.C. United academy player and Maryland Terrapin, was named to the US U-20 squad for the upcoming World Cup, which starts on May 20th, in Korea Republic. Williamson, who was part of the US team that won in the CONCACAF U-20 Championship back in March in route to qualifying for the World Cup, was one of 21 players in Tab Ramos’ squad for the tournament.

The US is part of a group with Ecuador, Senegal, and Saudi Arabia. The tournament begins for the United States U-20 team on May 22nd, when they open against Ecuador. Three days later, the US plays against Senegal, before wrapping up group play against Saudi Arabia on May 28th. In the World Cup, the top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage, in addition to the top four of six third placed teams.

Williamson and his US teammates became the first US team to win the U-20 CONCACAF tournament back in March when they defeated Honduras on penalties. Williamson started that game, but had to be removed early on due to an injury. However, Williamson recovered in time to join up at a training camp with the U-20s last month in London, England, and also spent some time training with the Black-and-Red.

Williamson also scored this stunning goal, which turned out to be the winner against El Salvador, which put the US in the CONCACAF final against Honduras.

Here is the rest of the squad for the tournament.

GOALKEEPERS (3): Jonathan Klinsmann (University of California; Newport Beach, Calif.), J.T. Marcinkowski (Georgetown; Alamo, Calif.), Brady Scott (De Anza Force; Petaluma, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (7): Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake; Salt Lake City, Utah), Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham Hotspur FC; Westcliff-on-Sea, England), Marlon Fossey (Fulham FC; Surbiton, England), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake; Tucson, Ariz.), Aaron Herrera (University of New Mexico; Las Cruces, N.M.), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City; Lee's Summit, Mo.), Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC; Oviedo, Fla.)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls; Wappingers Falls, N.Y.), Luca De La Torre (Fulham FC; San Diego, Calif.), Derrick Jones (Philadelphia Union; Philadelphia, Pa.), Eryk Williamson (University of Maryland; Alexandria, Va.), Gedion Zelalem (Arsenal FC; Bethesda, Md.)

FORWARDS (6): Jeremy Ebobisse (Portland Timbers; Bethesda, Md.), Lagos Kunga (Atlanta United FC Academy; Tucker, Ga.) Brooks Lennon (Real Salt Lake; Paradise Valley, Ariz.), Emmanuel Sabbi (Unattached; Columbus, Ohio), Josh Sargent (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri; O'Fallen, Mo.), Sebastian Saucedo (Real Salt Lake; Park City, Utah)