clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NWSL allocated players list includes Washington Spirit quartet

Several of the team’s new faces are exempt from the salary cap

The list of NWSL allocated players was revealed by the league today, with the Washington Spirit having four players on the list. Rose Lavelle, Mallory Pugh, and Taylor Smith will be Federation Players via the United States national team, while draft pick Rebecca Quinn has the same status through the Canadian national team.

The allocated player’s federation covers her salary cost for the NWSL season, giving their club team valuable salary cap space as well as a national team-caliber player to improve their squad on the field and help market the team off of it.

Notably, Andi Sullivan and Ashley Hatch, who are in camp with the USWNT in for the upcoming SheBelieves Cup, are not allocated. Neither Sullivan nor Hatch are particularly surprising omissions. Sullivan has just started to gain a foothold within Jill Ellis’ squad, while Hatch just got her first call-up since 2016.

Aside from Pugh, the Spirit’s allocated players were acquired during this offseason. Washington added Lavelle via a trade that put them in the top spot for the Boston Breakers dispersal draft, while they drafted Quinn third overall in the College Draft last month. Days before the draft, the Spirit sent Crystal Dunn’s rights to the North Carolina Courage in exchange for Hatch and Smith.

Elsewhere on the list, former Spirit defender Ali Krieger is no longer an allocated player. Sydney Leroux and Meghan Klingenberg are no longer allocated as is Morgan Brian who signed with Olympique Lyonnais.

Here is a club by club list:

Chicago Red Stars
Julie Ertz (USA)
Alyssa Naeher (USA)
Casey Short (USA)

Houston Dash
Jane Campbell (USA)
Christen Press (USA)
Nichelle Prince (CAN)

North Carolina Courage
Allysha Chapman (CAN)
Sabrina D’Angelo (CAN)
Abby Dahlkemper (USA)
Crystal Dunn (USA)
Samantha Mewis (USA)
Lynn Williams (USA)

Orlando Pride
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Alex Morgan (USA)
Shelina Zadorsky (CAN)

Portland Thorns FC
Tobin Heath (USA)
Lindsey Horan (USA)
Christine Sinclair (CAN)
Emily Sonnett (USA)

Seattle Reign FC
Allie Long (USA)
Megan Rapinoe (USA)

Sky Blue FC
Janine Beckie (CAN)
Adriana Leon (CAN)
Carli Lloyd (USA)
Kailen Sheridan (CAN)

Utah Royals FC
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Kelley O’Hara (USA)
Amy Rodriguez (USA)
Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)
Desiree Scott (CAN)

Washington Spirit
Rose Lavelle (USA)
Mallory Pugh (USA)
Rebecca Quinn (CAN)
Taylor Smith (USA)