clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Washington Spirit’s Mallory Pugh called up for USWNT duty

Jill Ellis has selected 22 players to face New Zealand later this month

Mallory Pugh is the sole Washington Spirit representative on the latest United States women’s national team roster. Jill Ellis called up 22 players for an upcoming pair of friendlies against New Zealand. The USWNT will play the Kiwis on September 15th at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park and on September 19th at Nippert Stadium, the home of FC Cincinnati.

Pugh, 19, has been a regular starter for the Spirit whenever she’s been healthy. She did miss several games earlier this season due to an ankle sprain picked up in the warm-up during the USWNT’s trip to Scandinavia in June, but returned weeks ago. The first game against New Zealand will be a homecoming of sorts for Pugh, a Colorado native.

In other roster news, Kelley O’Hara will get her 100th cap if she appears in either of the two games, while surprise call-ups include Stanford defender Tierna Davidson and longtime USWNT attacker Tobin Heath, who has not appeared in any NWSL games this season due to injury. Rose Lavelle - who has played just 18 minutes since an injury picked up on the same trip that saw Pugh sprain her ankle - has also been recalled.

Additionally, Chicago Red Stars attacker Sofia Huerta will join the team to train:

Huerta appeared for Mexico in non-competitive play in 2012 and 2013, but has since chosen to pursue playing for the US. However, until FIFA approves her federation, she is unable to take the field.

Here is the entire US roster:

Goalkeepers (3): Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride)

Defenders (7): Abby Dahlkemper (NC Courage), Tierna Davidson (Stanford), Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars), Taylor Smith (NC Courage)

Midfielders (7): Morgan Brian (Chicago Red Stars), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (Boston Breakers), Allie Long (Portland Thorns FC), Samantha Mewis (NC Courage), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)

Forwards (5): Crystal Dunn (Chelsea FC), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (Washington Spirit), Lynn Williams (NC Courage)