clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CONCACAF announces Gold Cup details, USMNT placed in a tough Group A

The groups for the 2015 Gold Cup were announced today, and the USMNT were put into the "group of death" as much as CONCACAF can "group of death".

Tasos Katopodis/Getty Images

The United States Men's National Team returns to official competitive matches this summer with the return of the CONCACAF Gold Cup, and the confederation finally announced the final details of the 2015 version of the competition. Today in Philadelphia, CONCACAF dignitaries gathered to unveil the tournament's groups and playing venues.

As we've come to expect in these events, the USMNT found themselves drawn in the toughest group of the three. The Americans will face Panama, Haiti, and the winner of a playoff between Honduras and French Guiana.

Group A Schedule

July 7 - Toyota Park, Frisco, Texas
Panama vs Haiti
USA vs Honduras or French Guiana

July 10 - Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, Massachusetts
Honduras or French Guiana vs Panama
USA vs Haiti

July 13 - Sporting Park, Kansas City, Kansas
Haiti vs Honduras or French Guiana
Panama vs USA

Group B consists of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Jamaica, and Canada. Rounding up Group C is Mexico, Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago, and Cuba.

If the USMNT finish in first or second place in the group, they'll be playing their quarterfinal game up the road from Washington DC at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, while the other quarterfinal matches will be in New Jersey at Met Life Stadium. The semifinals will be down in Atlanta at the Georgia Dome, and the final will take place at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

Since the USMNT won the 2013 Gold Cup, Jurgen Klinsmann and his team will face the winner of this tournament in a playoff to determine who goes to the 2017 Confederations Cup. If the USMNT win the Gold Cup again, they'll automatically earn a spot in Russia.