clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United's Jalen Robinson named to 2015 MLS Homegrown Game roster

Robinson is the first D.C. United player named to a Homegrown Game's roster.

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

After being shutout of representation at the 2015 MLS All-Star game, Monday's unveiling of the 2015 MLS Homegrown game roster had a slight Black-and-Red tinge to it. Jalen Robinson was named to the team that will face off against an under-20 side from Club America on July 28th.

Robinson, a defender who signed with United in January of 2014, has spent most of the season with the Richmond Kickers, where he has scored one goal in 11 appearances. He also participated in this year's Toulon Tournament with the US U-23's, appearing twice, once as a starter and once as a sub.

Robinson was the club's seventh ever homegrown signing when he inked his deal with United. He played two seasons at Wake Forest, before spending much of 2014 on loan with Arizona United SC, while also appearing once with Richmond.

The defender's first competitive game for D.C. United came last month, in the win over the Pittsburgh Riverhounds in the Fourth Round of the US Open Cup. Robinson started and went the full 120 minutes at right back, where he is projected to play for United. He then received another start and played 90 minutes in the 2-1 loss to the Philadelphia Union in the Fifth round of the Open Cup.

2015 marks the second version of the Chipotle Homegrown game, and the side will be managed by Landon Donovan. Last year, D.C. United did not have any representation in the inaugural roster for the homegrown side, but current United midfielder Miguel Aguilar appeared for the opposing side, the Portland Timber's U23 team.

2015 MLS Homegrown Team Gameday Roster

Goalkeepers: Matt Lampson (Columbus Crew SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas)

Defenders: Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Shane O'Neill (Colorado Rapids), Eric Palmer-Brown (Sporting Kansas City), Jalen Robinson (D.C. United), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy), Tyler Turner (Orlando City SC)

Midfielders: Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake), Jay Chapman (Toronto FC), Sean Davis (New York Red Bulls), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union), Memo Rodriguez (Houston Dynamo), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Harry Shipp (Chicago Fire), Ben Swanson (Columbus Crew SC), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Alex Zendejas (FC Dallas)

Forwards: Coy Craft (FC Dallas), Kianz Froese (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Montreal Impact), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)