clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Recap: Loudoun United thump Indy in 4-1 win

A total performance led to Loudoun’s most convincing win in a while

Courtesy Loudoun United

Following back-to-back games where Loudoun United was unable to score goals, in a 2021 season where the continuous trend for them was one where they were unable to finish their chances, Wednesday night saw them score the most goals they had since the last game of 2019 en route to a 4-1 win over Indy Eleven in front of 310 at Segra Field.

From last week’s 1-0 loss to the Charleston Battery, Loudoun made three changes to the lineup, one was forced due to Jeremy Garay’s national team call-up to El Salvador (who play Costa Rica Saturday), while Giovanni Montesdeoca and Sammy Sergi returned to the XI for Kairou Amoustapha and Darluis Paz, respectively. Michael DeShields was on the bench while Kimarni Smith started, as far as D.C. United loanees go.

Indy had some chances in the first half, but none that threatened Jermaine Fordah. Eventually, Sammy Sergi scored the first goal after a possession sequence that lasted almost a full minute with eight different players touching the ball:

Minutes later Sergi found himself with a fortunate opportunity following a Kimarni Smith corner kick:

Into the second half, Sergi came off for Darluis Paz, who scored his first goal with Loudoun to cap a nice sequence with Ted Ku-DiPietro and Smith:

Paz would return the favor to Ku-DiPietro, who had an impressive night overall:

Karl Ouimette would get one back for Indy moments later:

Loudoun (3-14-1) hosts the Tampa Bay Rowdies Monday at 7:00 pm at Segra Field.

Box Score

USL Championship Regular Season - Game 18
Loudoun United FC 4 (Sergi 43, 45+1, Paz 73, Ku-DiPietro 76)
Indy Eleven 1 (Ouimette 78)

Loudoun (3412): Jermaine Fordah; Hassan Pinto, Timmy Mehl (C), Allexon Saravia; Ted Ku-DiPietro, Nicky Downs (Massimo Ferrin 90), Landry Houssou, Robby Dambrot (Jackson Hopkins 90); Giovanni Montesdeoca (Kairou Amoustapha 46); Sammy Sergi (Darluis Paz 59), Kimarni Smith (Tyler Gabarra 86)

Indy (442): Jordan Farr; Rece Buckmaster (Nick Moon 59), Karl Ouimette, A.J. Cochran, Neveal Hackshaw; Aboubacar Sissoko (Gershon Koffie 59), Jeremiah Gutjahr (Peter-Lee Vassell 72), Ayoze (C) (Patrick Seagrist 80), Gordon Wild; Nicky Law, Manuel Arteaga (Jordan Hamilton 72)

Loudoun - Dambrot 47, Saravia 85, Amoustapha 90+2
Indy - Cochran 33, Ouimette 34, Moon 57