clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United’s 2021 salary list includes new, extended player numbers

It’s a lot to take in!

MLS: D.C. United at San Jose Earthquakes Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports

The MLS Players’ Association released its first publicly available salary figures in more than 18 months, after having to undergo multiple collective bargaining negotiations in the interim. For D.C. United, this includes a lot of different roster moves of consequence. To sum up from the last list, aside from player departures:

  • The multiyear extensions of Paul Arriola, Steve Birnbaum, Russell Canouse and Julian Gressel
  • New contracts for Fredric Brillant and Felipe Martins
  • First public salary figures for Edison Flores, Nigel Robertha and Bill Hamid, who was on loan when the last list was released and as we know, was turned (back) into a contracted player.

The total salaries put D.C. 20th among MLS teams in salary (using the tableau charts of Steve Fenn). As a reminder, the base salary is what is counted towards the team salary budget of $4,900,000, and does not disclose how much allocation money is used towards any player salaries so this is informative, but not a complete picture. Players that count towards the cap are italicized, and TAM/DP players are in bold.

Thoughts on the new numbers?

D.C. United salary figures

Player Base Salary Guaranteed Compensation
Player Base Salary Guaranteed Compensation
Tony Alfaro $81,375 $81,375
Paul Arriola $1,000,000 $1,050,000
Yamil Asad $475,000 $542,667
Steve Birnbaum $700,000 $712,500
Jovanny Bolivar $81,375 $81,375
Fredric Brillant $300,000 $315,000
Russell Canouse $500,000 $500,000
Michael DeShields $81,375 $81,375
Edison Flores $1,600,000 $1,733,000
Jacob Greene $63,547 $66,547
Julian Gressel $705,000 $760,781
Bill Hamid $500,000 $500,000
Brendan Hines-Ike $240,000 $274,429
Ola Kamara $400,000 $420,000
Jon Kempin $85,444 $85,444
Felipe Martins $150,000 $150,000
Joseph Mora $184,000 $198,600
Junior Moreno $184,000 $193,550
Andy Najar $90,000 $100,000
Moses Nyeman $85,444 $88,230
Chris Odoi-Atsem $130,000 $141,000
Kevin Paredes $100,000 $108,000
Adrian Perez $81,375 $81,375
Donovan Pines $125,000 $127,000
Yordy Reyna $711,500 $774,640
Nigel Robertha $550,000 $622,406
Chris Seitz $160,000 $160,000
Kimarni Smith $81,375 $81,375
Erik Sorga $150,000 $173,000
Griffin Yow $110,000 $116,118