clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United’s Paul Arriola named to USMNT January camp

After a successful return to national team play last month, Arriola is back for a joint USMNT/Under-23 camp in Florida

Montreal Impact v DC United Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

D.C. United winger Paul Arriola was today named to the USMNT roster for this month’s traditional year-opening camp, which begins January 9 and runs until a rumored friendly against Serbia on January 31. Gregg Berhalter has revamped the normal January roster structure, only naming twelve players (all aged 24 or older) initially. That group will join the Under-23 national team, training until January 24, when a selection of the U-23s will be incorporated into the national team for the friendly.

Following a torn ACL that cost him almost all of the 2020 season, Arriola made a dream return to national team play, scoring the opener in last month’s blowout win over El Salvador. Now on 34 caps, Arriola appears to be firmly ensconced in Berhalter’s plans, though the battle for roster spots on the wings is as difficult as it has ever been thanks to the success of young Americans in Europe along with other MLS-based options like Jordan Morris and Chris Mueller.

Still, United didn’t get entirely good news, as Bill Hamid (who got a shutout in that match against El Salvador) was left out of the squad. Berhalter instead named NYCFC’s Sean Johnson and New England Revolution goalkeeper Matt Turner to the squad, with it remaining unclear whether Hamid is behind that duo, or if Berhalter is simply rotating through all of his options. Johnson and Turner were not included in the group for the December camp, with JT Marcinkowski backing Hamid up.

The full roster is as follows:

Goalkeepers (2): Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Matt Turner (New England Revolution)

Defenders (3): Tristan Blackmon (LAFC), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders (3): Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC)

Forwards (4): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Mueller (Orlando City SC)