clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

D.C. United announces 2020 MLS schedule

New, 16 comments

Do you like soccer? Well here’s a list of some soccer games!

MLS: New York City FC at D.C. United Brad Mills-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Soccer announced its full 2020 schedule today, revealing D.C. United’s 34-game fixture list. We’ve known for some time that United will have the earliest game in MLS history, hosting the Colorado Rapids on February 29th at 1:00pm, but now we know what the rest of the calendar looks like.

MLS had previously confirmed a schedule where each team would play conference opponents once at home and once away, and then ten games against non-conference opponents (five at home, five on the road). That leaves three non-conference opponents entirely off the schedule for each club. In United’s case, that means no regular season games against the Portland Timbers, Real Salt Lake, and Sporting Kansas City.

United’s early-season calendar came with some complications, as the DC Defenders XFL team begins play at Audi Field this year. They’ll host football games on Buzzard Point on February 8th and 15th, and March 8th, 15th, and 28th, before then paying the costs of replacing the grass playing surface. Nonetheless, the Black-and-Red have their season opener against the Rapids and their first-ever game against expansion side Inter Miami CF in that same timeframe. They’ll also play New York City FC at home on April 3, raising major questions about the viability of replacing the playing surface in less than a week.

United’s first game against Nashville SC, the other expansion team joining MLS this season, will take place April 18th in Tennessee. The Black-and-Red’s Atlantic Cup games will both fall fairly early in the season, with United hosting the New York Red Bulls on April 26th and then traveling to Red Bull Arena on May 23rd. Fans looking for a vacation could opt to spend a week in Florida in August, as United is at Miami on August 8th and then at Orlando City seven days later.

The schedule features relatively few mid-week games, though United will have to deal with a very awkward mid-April set. They’ll play at San Jose on April 11th, then come home to face Toronto FC on April 14th (a highly unusual Tuesday game), and then head to Nashville on the following Saturday. The end of May features a Wednesday game in California against the LA Galaxy sandwiched between the aforementioned NYRB match and a home game against the Vancouver Whitecaps.

By virtue of their 5th place finish in the East last year, United will participate in the Leagues Cup, a tournament between MLS and Liga MX teams that the two leagues concocted last year. While those dates have not been announced, last year’s tournament started on July 23rd, and ended on September 18th. United will enter the 2020 U.S. Open Cup in the Round of 32, currently scheduled for May 19th or 20th, which would fall between a home game against Orlando and the trip to New Jersey to face the Red Bulls.

United’s complete schedule is as follows:

2020 D.C. United regular season schedule

Game Day Date Home team Away team Time (Eastern)
Game Day Date Home team Away team Time (Eastern)
1 Saturday February 29 D.C. United Colorado Rapids 1:00 PM
2 Saturday March 7 D.C. United Inter Miami 3:30 PM
3 Saturday March 14 FC Cincinnati D.C. United 5:30 PM
4 Sunday March 22 Philadelphia Union D.C. United 3:30 PM
5 Friday April 3 D.C. United New York City FC 7:00 PM
6 Saturday April 11 San Jose Earthquakes D.C. United 5:00 PM
7 Tuesday April 14 D.C. United Toronto FC 8:00 PM
8 Saturday April 18 Nashville SC D.C. United 8:00 PM
9 Sunday April 26 D.C. United New York Red Bulls 3:00 PM
10 Saturday May 2 Seattle Sounders D.C. United 5:30 PM
11 Saturday May 9 D.C. United Houston Dynamo 7:00 PM
12 Saturday May 16 D.C. United Orlando City SC 7:00 PM
13 Saturday May 23 New York Red Bulls D.C. United 7:30 PM
14 Wednesday May 27 LA Galaxy D.C. United 10:30 PM
15 Saturday May 30 D.C. United Vancouver Whitecaps 8:30 PM
16 Saturday June 6 New England Revolution D.C. United 7:30 PM
17 Saturday June 13 D.C. United FC Cincinnati 8:00 PM
18 Saturday June 20 Columbus Crew D.C. United 7:30 PM
19 Saturday June 27 D.C. United Minnesota United 8:00 PM
20 Wednesday July 1 D.C. United FC Dallas 8:00 PM
21 Saturday July 4 Atlanta United D.C. United 5:00 PM
22 Saturday July 11 Chicago Fire D.C. United 8:00 PM
23 Saturday July 18 D.C. United Montreal Impact 8:00 PM
24 Saturday July 25 Toronto FC D.C. United 7:30 PM
25 Saturday August 1 D.C. United Columbus Crew 9:00 PM
26 Saturday August 8 Inter Miami D.C. United 8:00 PM
27 Saturday August 15 Orlando City D.C. United 7:30 PM
28 Saturday August 22 D.C. United Philadelphia Union 8:00 PM
29 Saturday August 29 D.C. United New England Revolution 8:00 PM
30 Friday September 4 Montreal Impact D.C. United 7:00 PM
31 Sunday September 13 D.C. United Chicago Fire 1:00 PM
32 Sunday September 20 LAFC D.C. United 7:00 PM
33 Saturday September 26 New York City FC D.C. United 7:00 PM
34 Sunday October 4 D.C. United Atlanta United 4:30 PM