clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United releases Protected List, EJ NOT on it

Who are the Lucky (non-exempted) 11?

Jean-Yves Ahern-USA TODAY Sports

Per the team, the list of protected players for Wednesday's Expansion Draft are:

Steve Birnbaum

Bobby Boswell

Nick DeLeon

Fabian Espindola

Sean Franklin

Bill Hamid

Taylor Kemp

Perry Kitchen

Chris Pontius

Chris Rolfe

Luis Silva

So by (admittedly hasty) process of elimination, Orlando City SC and NYCFC can choose from the following under contract players:

Davy Arnaud

Conor Doyle

Andrew Driver

Andrew Dykstra

David Estrada

Jared Jeffrey

Eddie Johnson

Chris Korb

Thomas McNamara

Lewis Neal

Kofi Opare

This obviously does not include homegrown players Collin Martin, Jalen Robinson or Michael Seaton, nor does this include Nana Attakora, Alex Caskey, Jeff Parke, Kyle Porter and Conor Shanosky, whom the team declined options on earlier today and will be unprotected.

So...that about right? Thoughts?