clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLS All-Star Game Voting Opens Tomorrow - Here's The Nominees!

New, 5 comments
No, Peter! Don't trade DeRo to Chelsea!
No, Peter! Don't trade DeRo to Chelsea!

Major League Soccer announced today the list of players that will be eligible for selection for the MLS All-Star Game, which is scheduled for July 25 against Chelsea FC at PPL Park in Chester, PA. The voting for the MLS All-Star Game roster will be open from June 8 (that's tomorrow!) on and via text, with a special Twitter voting session on June 21-22.

Six players were nominated from each MLS team, with a panel of media members deciding on the list. Despite the surprisingly incredible season of Daniel Woolard and the impressive performances we've seen from Emiliano Dudar, the list of D.C. United players nominated is very attack-focused. The list includes goalkeeper Bill Hamid, forward Maicon Santos, and four midfielders: Dwayne De Rosario, Nick DeLeon, Perry Kitchen, and Chris Pontius.

The player receiving the most text message votes will earn an automatic invitation to the roster, with the next 10 players receiving online/text votes rounding out the First XI All-Stars. The All-Star Team will also include two picks from MLS Commissioner Don Garber, with the balance of the team being selected by Philadelphia Union manager Peter Nowak from the list of nominees. Nowak will likely then begin immediately trying to trade all of them.

The full list of players nominated for the MLS All-Star Game can be found here on SB Nation.