D.C. United announce 2013 MLS schedule

Mike Stobe

The Black-and-Red will appear on English-language national television nine times, including two games on the NBC broadcast network.

A few minutes earlier than expected - because MLS likes to surprise us - the league announced its 2013 slate of games. We already knew who D.C. United would be playing in its first three tilts of the new campaign, and now we can really start salivating over the 2013 MLS season, which starts in earnest less than two months from now.

Trust me, we'll have a lot more on this as we have time to digest it.

In the meantime, here are my own first impressions:

  • 2013 is a D.C. United sandwich on Houston Dynamo bread: we'll open and close the season against the two-time defending Eastern Conference (playoff) champs.
  • For me, the biggest games are always going to be those against the Metros. United will be playing the New York Red Bulls three times again this year, twice up in New Jersey and once in the friendly confines of RFK Stadium. As we already knew, we'll open up Red Bull Arena for the Cows on March 16. We'll also host them less than a month later, on April 13, and make a return trip to the Jersey City suburbs on August 31.
  • United will appear on English-language national television a grand total of nine times, including three of our first four matches and three of our last four. Two of those games - the first trip to New Jersey and the season finale in RFK against Houston - will be broadcast on NBC proper. The Black-and-Red will also make three appearances on nationally-available Spanish-language UniMas (formerly Telefutura).
  • Unlike in 2012, United will play at least four games in each calendar month of the season. Hooray for no random 8-week (seeming) layoffs!
  • Los Capitalinos will close out 2013 with six straight Eastern Conference opponents, and four of those six games will be at home. If we're in a good spot in the standings come to mid-September, we could be sitting pretty by the end of October.

If you're interested, you can find the full DCU schedule here or below, and the league's national TV schedule over here. Like I said, we'll be breaking down the schedule more in the near future, so stay tuned. In the meantime, what are your first reactions to the slate?

DATE

OPPONENT

TIME (ET)

TELEVISION

Saturday, March 2

at Houston

8:00pm

NBC Sports Network

Saturday, March 9

Real Salt Lake

7:00pm

Saturday, March 16

at New York

12:30pm

NBC

Saturday, March 23

Columbus

3:30pm

NBC Sports Network

Friday, April 5

at Kansas City

8:30pm

Saturday, April 13

New York

7:00pm

Sunday, April 21

Philadelphia

5:00pm

ESPN2

Saturday, April 27

at Columbus

7:30pm

Wednesday, May 8

Houston

7:00pm

Saturday, May 11

at Dallas

8:30pm

Sunday, May 19

Kansas City

5:00pm

TELEFUTURA

Saturday, May 25

Portland

7:00pm

Sunday, June 2

at Chicago

5:00pm

TELEFUTURA

Saturday, June 8

at New England

7:30pm

Saturday, June 15

Toronto

7:00pm

Saturday, June 22

San Jose

7:00pm

Saturday, June 29

Vancouver

7:00pm

Wednesday, July 3

at Seattle

10:00pm

Sunday, July 7

at Colorado

9:30pm

Saturday, July 20

at Chicago

8:30pm

Saturday, July 27

New England

7:00pm

Saturday, Aug. 3

Montreal

7:00pm

Saturday, Aug. 10

at Philadelphia

8:00pm

NBC Sports Network

Saturday, Aug. 17

at Montreal

TBD

TSN

Saturday, Aug. 24

Toronto

7:00pm

Saturday, Aug. 31

at New York

8:00pm

NBC Sports Network

Sunday, Sept. 8

at Chivas

9:00pm

Sunday, Sept. 15

LA Galaxy

5:00pm

TELEFUTURA

Saturday, Sept. 21

at New England

7:30pm

Saturday, Sept. 28

at Toronto

TBD

Friday, Oct. 4

Chicago

8:00pm

NBC Sports Network

Saturday, Oct. 12

Philadelphia

7:00pm

Friday, Oct. 18

at Kansas City

8:00pm

NBC Sports Network

Sunday, Oct. 27

Houston

1:30pm

NBC

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Black And Red United

You must be a member of Black And Red United to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Black And Red United. You should read them.

Join Black And Red United

You must be a member of Black And Red United to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Black And Red United. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker